Film Review: Toy Story 3

Toy Story was the first film I remember going to go see. I was five yeas old, I remember walking out from the AMC theatre with my father with a huge smile on my face. The theatre (and my childhood) is long gone, but the memories of seeing something entirely new remain. 15 years later here we are.

So, it happened. After months of anticipation, Toy Story 3 was recently released to the masses. I’m sure if you haven’t invested your 13+ dollars in tickets you probably have a few questions. In this economic climate, we all need to make informed purchases. Spending that much on a movie with a pair of recyclable 3D glasses can be stressful.

Do not fear, Toy Story 3 was wonderful for many reasons. It will forever join the ranks of my favorite children’s films along side most Pixar films. Toy Story 3 has everything any film really needs to be great. It’s hilarious, it’s emotional and it has something for all ages.

Review and trailer after the break.

“it was extraordinarily emotional, I was like ‘Toy Story 3? They’re doing this again?’ After seeing it though, I just want them to keep going.” – John Berry, Professional Sky Diving Videographer.

I think that sums it up well.

The first thing I noticed about Toy Story 3 was the fact that it’s beautiful. The opening scene is both absolutely hilarious, I was uncontrollably laughing, and at the same time vividly beautiful. To answer any questions about 3D with Toy Story 3, it’s subtle and almost perfectly executed. I honestly forgot it was there after a few moments. If you saw UP, you know what to expect. For me, it only further pushed me into the story. If your theatre offers an option for 3D or not, go with whatever you’re willing to pay.

It’s one third of the title, “Story!” and it’s great. Plot progression was flawless. While I don’t want to give anything away, I will say one thing. Throughout the 103 minuets I was never bored or aware of the time. I was totally immersed, enthralled and even brought to tears by a G rated, third installment of film that features toys springing to life when people aren’t watching. That is Awesome.

The usual cast of Toys were great as always. Woody, Buzz, Rex, Slinky-Dog, Hamm, Mr. and Mrs. Potato head all were voiced and animated superbly. But that was expected. What was great to see was the level of creativity and hard work that was put into developing new and exciting characters. They are diverse, relatable, and interesting. There were even a few nods to film-noir with chatter telephone, and chuckles the clown. Even the Hayao Miyazaki created, Toroto, featured a cameo. That’s something so awesome, that only Pixar themselves could pull off.

(Marketing Genius!)

I’m going through my notes about the film and I can’t find a single thing to complain about. It’s been a long time, but I’m willing to say this is the best Toy Story film of the trilogy. It’s much better than Toy Story 2, and more thought out and more in-depth than Toy Story. Pixar, I guess you’ve done it. You’ve quite literally outdone yourselves.

4/4 stars, or “Guaranteed fresh”. Take your pick, because anyone who has experienced change in life needs to see this. (That’s everyone, by the way.)

-Spencer


About Spencer Starnes

Founder of the Revolving Door Project. Originally from West Texas, Spencer currently lives in Center City Philadelphia. He is currently earning his degree is Communications with an emphasis in film making from the University of the Arts. He is a film maker, photographer, and a writer. His photography can be found at his portfolio. www.SpencerStarnes.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Film Review: Toy Story 3

  1. Jordan Paul Miles says:

    Good review, I’ll have to see it. Pixar is THE biggest thing now and I wouldn’t expect any less from it. 109 million in the first weekend from a kid’s movie is something formally unheard of but Pixar continues to deliver bigger and better films each time they make a new release.

  2. John Berry says:

    Pixar did such an amazing job. Honostly UP was good and heartbreaking, but Toy Story 3, you could relate to all the characters and they made you want to really just be apart of something important. Toy Story 3 has been, by far, Pixars masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

